趨勢及見解

大規模工作實驗

home-sweet-home-office
分章此文章

武漢新型冠狀病毒(Covid-19)爆發帶來一個意想不到的情況,就是大規模工作實驗,數以百萬計的中國員工未來數星期要在家工作,工作表現會變得怎樣?

猜疑

2013年,雅虎行政總裁Marissa Mayer下令雅虎員工不准再在家工作,理由?她寫道:

            好的決策和主意多是靠在走廊和飯堂閒聊、認識新同事和即興會議中生出來的。

雖然她這番話說得很對,但隱藏了陰暗和猜疑一面。她曾登入伺服器,查探在家工作的員工有否登入公司系統,以登入次數斷定員工正在偷懶。《Deep Work深度工作力》作者Cal Newport在書中指Mayer只是「懲罰員工花太少時間查電郵(登入公司系統的首要原因)。」

分心

他指出大部分機構不懂連繫和接通的分別,員工登入公司系統是接通,但當員工正式及非正式的交流才是連繫。

對Mayer來說,接通等同工作。然而,一個人廿四小時接通網絡,會被電郵、短訊、即時通知、瀏覽器無數頁面等五花八門的數碼程式分心,未必全跟工作有關。這些員工即使在辦公室上網,也只是裝個樣子,坐在書桌前扮勤力回電郵,但誰知他們實際正做甚麼。

由數碼連結的辦公室總有無止境的紛擾,對工作表現影響極多。很多上班族平均每三分鐘轉換手頭上工作,意味我們無法專心一志完成首要任務。

為此,我們只好延長工作時間,在辦公室花的時間越來越長。有些人以工作時間長沾沾自喜,以此肯定自己刻苦耐勞,也有人更埋頭苦幹,務求在限時內完成所有工作。

延長工間的影響深遠,我們少了跟摯親相處的機會,犧牲休息和復原的時間,不論在家裡或公司變得煩躁不安,認知功能逐漸減退。不幸的是,埋頭苦幹會危害員工的身心,導致專注力不足、高血壓、精疲力竭或更差的情況。

深度工作

如今局勢令大家難以上班工作,大家在家工作不應遭受類似Mayer的網絡審查。在家工作的員工有可能更有效率,比在公司更加專心一志。

當大家工作時專心一致,便能把報告寫得仔細,將簡報設計得精緻,其他工作也能盡善盡美,不再像以前在辦公室因為分心,要倉促把工作草草做完。

這些員工還可以花更多時間與摯親相處,睡得安寧,不再煩躁不安(當然也毋須為病毒憂慮)。

協同工作

在家工作無疑會影響同事之間的合作,雖然數碼工具成就視像合作,但因模式比較正規而且使用步驟相對複雜,難以深化人與人的連繫。

協同工作有兩種模式——正式和非正式。

正式做法涉及與同事會面,以解決複雜的問題。這些會議不應有議程,也不應限時間,直至覓出解決方法,令任務完成。參加者應全面了解自己下一步的角色,這就需要在不同崗位的個人深度工作。谷哥發現愈肯花時間合作的團隊,愈能迅速有效解決問題。

非正式合作在公私融合的邊際空間進行,如咖啡店、酒吧和餐廳。員工把酒言歡,談笑風生,看法和幻想也滔滔而來,這是正式環境不會出現的,用心聆聽之下,可以從這些對話中演化出不少的可能性,或一個個新的解決方案。Alex Pentland關於合作的研究指出,定期非正式聚會可以將團隊表現提升50%,因此谷哥辦公室有這麼多吃喝玩樂的空間。

毫無疑問,中國在家工作政策難免影響合作表現,可能令一些公司的創意及創新方法短期退步。

在家工作不會因為辦公室的種種元素而導致分心,這回如何影響生產力以及工作的質與量,這是值得深思的問題。如果觀察到員工開始提升工作表現,同時有更多時間與摯愛相處、休息復原,那的確會是我們重要一課。

度身訂造的深度合作空間:工作的未來?

不幸的是,大部分公司有充分理由不考慮這個意外實驗的好處,然而,它起碼給我們一個機會,思考一間機構如何善用深度合作的工作模式,同時確保員工福祉和認知表現。

其中一個結果就是人們重新評估空間的使用。如果我們發現最好的深度工作原來發生在遠離辦公室的地方,例如配合各人的家裡、海灘或咖啡店,我們應該怎樣重新組織對辦公室的處理方法?

這件事並不牽強,「只問結果的工作環境」哲學已證明十分成功。

如果我們不需辦公室,也能得到好的深度工作,辦公室還有何用?工作的其中一個重要元素是歸屬感。機構文化應讓我們與其他人分享共同價值觀,成為我們的歸屬處。如果這種隨處工作的超彈性做法成為常態,我們會失去這種歸屬感嗎?

除了歸屬感,合作對工作表現十分重要,應該得到支持,因此我們需要一個空間,促進大家正式和非正式的合作。

無容置疑,共享工作不單造就社區,也促成合作。社區合作的成員讓在家工作的人,可以在度身訂造、設施完善的社區合作空間連結起來,共同解決複雜的問題,增加歸屬感。


roundPegz成員Richard Claydon撰文:
roundPegz成員Jonathan Hood插圖:

roundPegz 是一群顛覆性思想家,與theDesk合作,在複雜而競爭激烈的世界為社區成員更上一層,建立深度行業知識及建立意義深遠的關係。

探索theDesk:你的共享工作和活動空間
不論你需要私人辦公室、開放式工作環境或活動場地,我們都有適合你的選擇。立即預約參觀,了解我們的共融社區,靈活的會員計劃和價格如何幫助你開拓和發展業務。

分章此文章
分章此文章

最高瀏覽量文章

頂部

Trend & Insights

Massive work experiment

home-sweet-home-office
Share this article on

An unexpected side-effect of the Wuhan Novel Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak is a massive work experiment.  Millions upon millions of Chinese knowledge workers are going to be working from home for many weeks. What is this going to do to performance?

Distrust

In 2013, Yahoo CEO Marissa Mayer decreed that Yahoo workers would no longer be allowed to work from home. The reason? She wrote that:
Some of the best decisions and insights come from hallway and cafeteria discussions, meeting new people, and impromptu team meetings.

While that is certainly true, there was a darker, distrustful side to her missive. She checked the server logs to see if employees working from home were logged into the system. Looking at the numbers, she concluded that employees were slacking off.  In Deep Work, author Cal Newport argues that Mayer was essentially “punishing her employees for not spending more time checking email (one of the primary reasons to log in to the servers).”

Distraction

He argues that most organizations fail to understand the difference between connection and connectivity.  Connectivity occurs when an employee is logged onto the system. Connection happens when they are formally or informally collaborating.

For Mayer, the connectivity equated to work. However, permanent online connectivity comes with a wide range of digital distractions – email, messaging services, slack notifications, and multi-tabbed internet browsers which might or might not be work-related.  When online in the workplace, employees are also managing impressions. By staying at their desks firing off emails it appears as if they are being productive, regardless of what they might actually be doing.

The never-ending distractions and interruptions of the digitally-connected workplace have numerous performance-killing side-effects. Many of us now switch tasks roughly every three minutes during the working day, meaning we never get to fully focus our attention on our core tasks. 

To cope, we expand our hours, coming in earlier and leaving later.  We then either wear our increased hours as a badge of pride, affirming our identity as a hard-worker or we try to work faster and faster in order to fit the work that needs to be done into the small windows we have available.

The longer-hours coping technique has clear side-effects.  With less time spent with loved ones and little time to rest and recuperate, we become irritable at home and at work and our cognitive function drops. Unfortunately, the working-faster coping technique is more harmful physiologically and psychologically across almost every marker. It leads to attention deficit disorders, hyper-tension, burn-out or worse.

Deep Work

In an environment in which coming back to work is not an option, this forced work-from-home experiment should not suffer from Mayer-like digital scrutiny.  It is very possible that working-from-home employees will become more productive and do more deep, focused work than they ever were able to at the office.

Distraction-free attention can be applied to the work that needs to be done, leading to carefully-crafted reports, aesthetically-designed presentations, and a plethora of other good outcomes instead of the work that is often done sloppily in the micro-moments between distractions in the workplace.

Employees might also manage to spend more time with their loved ones, have more sleep, and generally become less irritable and anxious (aside from worries about the virus, of course).

Collaborative Work

One thing that will be impacted by enforced working-from-home is good collaboration. While digital tools enable virtual collaboration, there is a formality and complexity to their use that might prevent excellent collaborative practice and deep human-to-human connection from occurring. 

Analogue collaborative practice has two forms – formal and informal.

Formal practice involves meeting with colleagues to solve a complex problem. It should largely be agenda free, and should last as long as is necessary to find a solution and assign the tasks to be done.    Participants should have a full understanding of their role in the next stage of the process, which will often require individual deep work on various components. Notably, Google has discovered that the teams that spend the most time in analogue collaboration are far more productive and rapid when it comes to coding the solution.

Informal collaborative practice takes place in liminal spaces – coffee shops, bars, cafes, restaurants – in which work and social life combine. When co-workers break bread together, the fluid work-and-life-related conversations that follow are replete with insights and possibilities that almost never get discussed in formal environments. For the attentive listener, all kinds of possible solutions will emerge from such conversations. Alex Pentland’s research on collaboration has suggested that regularly breaking bread together can improve team performance by up to 50%.  This is the reason why so much of Google’s floorspace is set aside for eating and drinking.

There is little doubt that good collaborative practice is going to be negatively impacted during China’s enforced work-from-home policy. This will likely result in a short-term drop in creative and innovative problem-solving in affected companies.

What we can learn is the degree to which being free of the distractions of workplace connectivity has on more productivity – the amount done and the quality of the work. If employees do begin to produce good work at an increased rate, plus find more time for relationships, rest and recuperation, then we will have learned something significant.

Customized Deep and Collaborative Spaces – The Future of Work?

Unfortunately, for perfectly understandable reasons, I don’t think that many companies will measure the outcome of this unexpected experiment in a meaningful manner. However, it certainly should give us an opportunity to reflect on how an organization could maximize both deep and collaborative work practices, and ensure employee wellbeing and cognitive performance in the process.

One such outcome might be a vigorous reappraisal of space usage. What if we discover that people’s best Deep Work is done in a personally-customized work environment away from the office, whether at home, the beach or at a coffee shop? How might we reorganize our workplace practices if this were the case?

It’s not so far-fetched. The Results-Only Work Environment methodology is already doing this with great success.

If we don’t need office space to do good deep work, what might we need it for?  One significant aspect of work is a sense of belongingness.  Organizational cultures were supposed to help us feel like we belonged as we shared values with those around us. What happens if hyper-flexible work-from-anywhere policies become the norm. Will our sense of belongingness disappear too?

Alongside belongingness, collaborative practice must be supported given how positively it impacts performance. There is going to be a need for places designed to support excellence in formal and informal collaboration.

There’s certainly a case to be made for coworking providing community-as-a-service and collaboration-as-a-service. Community-collaboration membership could bring people deep working from home together in a custom-designed and facilitated community-collaboration space when they need to work on complex problems and a sense of belongingness.


Text by roundPegz fellow: Richard Claydon
Illustration by roundPegz fellow: Jonathan Hood

roundPegz a community of disruptive thinkers working with theDesk to try and help community members develop excellent work practices, deep industry knowledge and meaningful relationships in today’s complex and competitive world.

Explore theDesk: Your co-working and events space.
Get to know what happens at theDesk. Book a tour now to discover how our inclusive community can help start and grow your business.

Share this article on
Share this article on

Popular articles

Top