共享工作

座落香港核心商業區的共享辦公室

分章此文章

進駐核心商業區能為企業打響名氣,亦為企業帶來多種好處。但對很多企業來說,找到符合要求的辦公室並不容易,在租金為全球最高昂的香港尤其困難。香港的平均租金在過去數十年來持續上升,今年 11 月更高達每平方英尺163 港元,核心商業區辦公室的租金超出不少企業的預算。難怪共享工作空間及共享辦公室等近來大受歡迎,讓企業可以以便宜一大截的租金,進駐中環或金鐘等香港中心地帶。除了省下金錢外,這些懂得善用共享空間的企業究竟還獲得了哪些好處呢?

香港核心商業區發展史

要真正了解企業為何憧憬核心商業區,就必先了解這些地區的過去。英國人在十九世紀中期來到香港,以今天的中環一帶作為軍事與行政中心。其後中環和金鐘等地區快速發展,帶動香港由小村莊組成的社區轉變為工業與金融大都會,人們也開始將這一區視為香港的心臟地帶。如今,中環及周遭地區高樓大廈林立,為香港金融活動的樞紐地帶,區內的辦公空間也變得炙手可熱,租金遠超過其他地區。根據仲量聯行統計,鼎盛時期曾經每平方尺租金要價 220 港元,即比第二昂貴的城市還要高出 60%,令許多企業卻步。

進駐核心商業區的好處

既然租金如此高昂,為何企業都喜歡一同進駐這區?究竟有什麼好處?我們看看以下幾大因素:

  • 提升企業信譽:落腳金鐘或中環可以增加企業的聲望,一方面凸顯企業身份,加上能進駐此地段的企業多是各產業的龍頭,也負擔得起租金,和他們比鄰能提升企業的信譽,刺激業務成長。
  • 人脈豐富:周圍都是產業龍頭,提供了拓展人脈的機會,各式各樣的活動都在中心地區舉辦,加上每天都有機會認識和接觸到不同的潛在客戶或合作夥伴。
  • 知識外溢效應和產業龍頭比鄰會引發連鎖效應,換句話說,在企業附近工作的人往往會出席同一場活動,在同一間餐廳吃飯,他們的朋友和人脈也會在附近,輕易造就交流機會,增長見聞。
  • 交通便利:最顯著的優勢非「交通便利」莫屬,中環或金鐘均為重要交通樞紐,搭公共交通前往港九新界各區均十分方便。
和產業龍頭比鄰會引發連鎖效應,提供了拓展人脈的機會。

共享工作空間:具備金鐘的優點,卻不用金鐘的租金

好消息是,以上種種需求,共享工作空間一應俱全。香港許多共享辦公室不僅提供合理的價格,其共融社區也各有特色。租用共享空間,可與其他會員共用主要辦公設施,卻同時享有企業團隊專屬的私人辦公室。由於租金遠比傳統辦公室合理,加上社會觀念日漸改變,租用共享辦公室已不再是自由工作者或初創企業的專利。越來越多中大型企業選擇進駐,以節省租金開支,並享受共享工作空間的便利與交流機會。

中環和金鐘一帶的共享辦公空間租金極具吸引力,每人每月只要約 6,000 到 7,000 港元,就能租用一間專私人公室,並且能使用公共空間的所有設施。香港的共享工作空間目前佔地超過兩百萬平方尺,如此輕易就能享受既靈活又一應俱全的共享工作空間,何必長期租用傳統辦公室?而且共享工作空間有專人管理,令會員更覺方便。

很多共享工作空間特意在設計上跳脫刻板印象,捨去溫暖、偏向生活風格的室內裝潢,改採簡約主義,打造能提高生產力的空間,以吸引成熟企業。

很多共享工作空間品牌深知自身優勢,也善加發揮,致力於各處設立據點。他們特意在設計上跳脫刻板印象,捨去溫暖、偏向生活風格的室內裝潢,改採簡約主義,打造能提高生產力的空間,以吸引成熟企業,或從事金融以及相關服務的企業。這些企業發現共享辦公室不但能提高工作效率,租用條件彈性且合理,更提供拓展人脈的機會。共享工作空間讓企業不但能擁有適合自己的私人辦公室,更可享用一應俱全的公共空間,而且交通便利,走幾分鐘就能到最近的港鐵站。

總而言之,儘管進駐核心商業區有許多好處,包括提高企業聲望、交通便捷、人脈豐富等等,傳統辦公室的天價租金仍然讓不少企業望而卻步。近年來共享工作空間在核心商業區越來越普遍,企業也有了新選擇。只要租用共享辦公室,就能享受傳統辦公室的所有(甚至可能更多)好處卻不需負擔誇張的高額租金。共享工作品牌藉著讓會員共用公共空間和設施,把租金壓低,一方面發揮共享工作環境便於社交和拓展人脈的優勢,另一方面打造容易專注工作的簡約工作環境,以幫助會員促進業務成長。

想加入位於核心商業區的共融社區嗎?歡迎聯繫我們

分章此文章
分章此文章

最高瀏覽量文章

頂部

Co-working

Shared Offices in the Heart of HK’s CBD

Share this article on

Working in a Central Business District (CBD) has long been prestigious and comes with a whole suite of advantages. But many businesses struggle to find office spaces to suit their specific needs, especially in Hong Kong, which is home to the most expensive office rent prices in the world. Reaching up to HK$163 per square foot this November, rent prices have, on average, soared continuously for the past few decades to the extent that finding private office space in the CBD is often unjustifiable. As a result, the idea of co-working and shared office spaces has blossomed in recent years. Through shared office spaces, companies are able to get business addresses in the heart of Hong Kong in places like Central and Admiralty for a fraction of the price. But what benefits are the savvy companies moving their offices into shared spaces receiving exactly?

The History of Hong Kong’s Central Business District

To truly understand why someone might want to move their team to an office space in the CBD, it’s important to understand how these places came about in the first place. When the British first arrived in Hong Kong in the mid 19th century, they established the area, now known as Central, as centre for various military and administrative facilities. Hong Kong’s rapid growth and transition from communities of small villages to an industrial and financial metropolis happened around Central and Admiralty, with people beginning to consider them the heart of Hong Kong. In today’s world, Central and its surrounding districts house an eclectic array of skyscrapers serving as the hub for much of Hong Kong’s financial activity. Unfortunately for many businesses, the demand for office spaces in around Hong Kong’s wider CBD is far too steep, with comparably extortionate rents that, at their peak, have been reported by Jones Lang LaSalle to hit HK$220 per square foot. For context, that’s up to 60% higher than the next most expensive city.

Benefits of working in the Central Business District

But why exactly do people think it advantageous to work in the same district as one another, especially if the rent prices are so high? It all boils down to a few key factors:

  • Credibility and reputation: Having an Admiralty or Central address adds prestige to your company. Helping with growth, it boosts the reputation and credibility of your business by legitimizing your business and pitting it against industry leaders who, up until now, are the only ones who could realistically afford CBD addresses.
  • Networking: Being in and amongst the business leaders grants you great networking opportunities. Many events are held in these areas and, while being able to meet new people daily provides countless opportunities to create new leads and partnerships.
  • Knowledge spill-overs: Being in close proximity to industry leaders can have a knock-over effect. The people you work near to are the same people that will attend events in your area, grab lunches at the same restaurants and have friends and connections nearby that you can easily be introduced to.
  • Convenience: Perhaps giving the most visible benefits, convenience is a huge factor. Central and Admiralty are both easily accessible public transport exchange hubs.
Being in and amongst the business leaders grants you knock-over effect and great networking opportunities.

Admiralty convenience sans Admiralty rent

Luckily, co-working spaces offer the perfect solution. Offering reasonable rents, many shared office spaces around Hong Kong are offered the chance to showcase their premium features and inclusive business communities. Having a private office within a shared space enables you to share key facilities with other members while still maintaining a dedicated office space for you and your team. Giving significantly more cost-effective rents and thanks to changing perceptions, being in a shared office is no longer an option just for the freelancer and early stage startup. More and more medium and larger sized businesses are making the move as a way of counteracting unjustifiable rents, finding that the convenience and business platform easily trumps that of traditional office spaces.

Rents at shared office spaces in locations across Central and Admiralty are competitive, sitting at around HK$6000-7000 per head, per month for a private office and full access to the communal area. Why bother to sort out the details of a long-term traditional office when the option to move into a flexible shared space is so readily available? As it stands, there are over 2 million square feet of space occupied by co-working in Hong Kong. Not to mention, all the upkeep is taken care of for you by a team whose goal is to make your office as convenient as possible.

Scrapping the stereotypical warm and lifestyle orientated designs, co-working spaces start to cater towards mature businesses wishing for an address in HK’s CBD with minimalistic and productive interiors.

Many co-working companies keenly understand these advantages too and use them to shape their individual locations. Scrapping the stereotypical warm and lifestyle orientated designs, they cater towards mature businesses and those in industries like finance and its extended professional services wishing for an address in HK’s CBD with minimalistic and productive interiors. What they find in a shared office is the perfect mix between a productive work environment, flexible and reasonable terms, and bountiful networking opportunities. Being able to step outside of your customisable private office into a communal area that’s all but a minute walk away from the closest MTR is a luxury many businesses would miss if it were not for the option for a shared office.

In sum, while working in the CBD has a whole range of benefits such as extra credibility, convenience and networking, many businesses have a hard time justifying the extortionate rent prices for traditional office spaces. But with the recent uptake in the number of co-working spaces in the Central Business District, businesses now have another option. A shared office space offers all the benefits of traditional workspaces (and often more) but without the ridiculous rent prices. Achieving this through making use of communal spaces and sharing facilities, co-working companies such are creating an environment that fosters not only the sociability and networking ease co-working has become synonymous with, but also a productive and minimalistic environment to foster business growth.

Interested in being part of an inclusive business community in Hong Kong’s CBD? Contact us today to learn more.

Share this article on
Share this article on

Popular articles

Top