趨勢及見解

20世紀最偉大的藝術作品

Donna-Summer
分章此文章

與我相熟的朋友,可能已經聽過以下的想法很多次,但沒有聽過的話,這些觀點絕對值得我再說一遍。

我深信Donna Summer的《I Feel Love》(IFL) 是20世紀最偉大的藝術作品(不能說歌曲是只屬於她的,以下會再詳細講解)。

雖然這是不言而喻的事實,根本無需求證,但容許我在這證明以上觀點,同時探索當代社會的一些重要問題。

早已忘掉這首歌嗎?可先在這裡觀看和收聽,並閱讀Simon Reynold 筆下有關這歌曲的故事,溫故知新一下。

言歸正傳。究竟這首音樂作品是嚴肅的還是輕鬆的,實在很難分辨。時下的人通常不喜歡新移民,他們普遍重視自己的種族/國家/地區/家庭/城鎮/鄰里的歷史和文化,認為籬笆夠堅固,鄰舍關係才會好,代表人與人之間要有距離。

《I Feel Love》展現出一個與眾不同的世界觀。它由一位來自波士頓的黑人女性和一位在集合了德語、意大利語和拉丁語環境的南蒂羅爾成長的音樂製作人創作而成,而它最成功(也最迷幻)的混音版本則是由一個來自美國水牛城的同性戀者製作。 對於批評身份認同政治的人來說,這首歌的政治立場是分裂的。 《I Feel Love》彰顯了身份的重要性。它結合了歐洲和美國,黑人和白人,同性戀和異性戀元素,構成了一份獨一無二的感覺。這群人結合一起,可以說是一同創造了新的未來。一群與種族隔絕、沒有個人特色的音樂人是沒法創作出這樣的作品的。身份是我們的起點,我們都來自世界某個地方。 但我們的身份同時包含了我們要做怎樣的人,擁抱哪種生活的選擇。

這首歌曲不僅跨越了黑人與白人、男性與女性之間的界限,也跨越了人類與機器之間的界限。 Donna Summer的歌聲經琶音音序器的混合處理,更加令人聽出耳油。 另一位Donna (Haraway) 在《賽柏格宣言》(A Cyborg Manifesto)中提到她「寧願做cyborg,也不做女神」(  60年代地球母親眼中的女神)。Donna Summer與Giorgio Moroder對此不以為然的反駁是:「為何不能兩者都做?」

為什麼不能兩者同時做?

要解決我們的問題超越了單一團體的能力。 我們真正需要的是一個多樣化和富創造性的未來。 我們必須植根於我們的過去(向保守派的讀者致敬!),創造一個富有意義的未來。

就像《I Feel Love》一樣。

roundPegz成員Matthew Moore撰文
圖片來源: Donna SummerFacebook專頁

roundPegz 是一群顛覆性思想家,與theDesk合作,在複雜而競爭激烈的世界為社區成員更上一層,建立深度行業知識及建立意義深遠的關係。

探索theDesk:你的共享工作和活動空間
不論你需要私人辦公室、開放式工作環境或活動場地,我們都有適合你的選擇。立即預約參觀,了解我們的共融社區,靈活的會員計劃和價格如何幫助你開拓和發展業務。


分章此文章
分章此文章

最高瀏覽量文章

頂部

Trend & Insights

The Greatest Work of Art of the 20th Century

Donna-Summer
Share this article on

To those of you that know me well, the following will be tediously familiar. But for the newcomers, it’s worth rehearsing these arguments again.

I am of the firm belief that Donna Summer’s (well, not only, but we’ll come to that) I Feel Love (IFL) is the greatest work of art of the 20th century.

Let me justify that statement. Not because it needs justifying. It’s a self-evident truth. But because justifying this statement allows us to explore some important issues in contemporary society.

If you want to refresh your memory, please watch and listen here and also read Simon Reynold’s thorough history of the track.

Now to business. Or pleasure. It’s so hard to tell the difference with this piece of music. Many people don’t like immigrants these days. They believe in the importance of the history of their race/country/region/family/town/cul-de-sac. “Good fences make good neighbors”.

IFL presents a radically different take on the world. This is a song created by a black woman from Boston and a music producer who grew up in a mixed German, Italian and Ladin-speaking environment in South Tyrol. And its greatest (and most hallucinogenic) remix was made by a gay man from Buffalo. Critics of identity politics say that such political positions are divisive. IFL shows the importance of identity. It could not be made by a group of deracinated, interchangeable musicians. It is the product of Europe and America, black and white, gay and straight worlds. All of them coming together in something new. All of them making the future with each other. Identity is where we start from. We all come from somewhere. But identity is also what we choose to become, what we choose to let into our lives.

It crosses not only the boundaries between black and white and male and female but also those between humans and machines. Donna Summer’s orgasmic vocals sublime up through a meshwork of arpeggiated sequencers. That other Donna (Haraway) wrote in A Cyborg Manifesto that she’s “rather be a cyborg than a goddess” (one in the eye for 60s earth mothers). Summer & Moroder casually counter with “why not be both?”

Why not be both?

Our problems are too big for one group to solve. If we want a future, it has to be diverse and creative. It has to be rooted in our past (shout out to the conservatives reading this). It has to create a future worth living in.

It has to be like I Feel Love.

Text by roundPegz fellow Matthew Moore
Photo source: Donna Summer official Facebook page  

roundPegz a community of disruptive thinkers working with theDesk to try and help community members develop excellent work practices, deep industry knowledge and meaningful relationships in today’s complex and competitive world. 

Guilds – Now more than ever, the business community needs to work together to overcome the challenges it faces in the short and long term. At theDesk, we believe in the power of collaborative communities. Guilds is designed to expand your knowledge, improve your professional performance, and increase your network of industry experts. Find out more >

Latest posts:


newsDesk – Leading the conversation of collaboration.
Experience theDesk and book a tour to discover how our inclusive community can help start and grow your business.

Share this article on
Share this article on

Popular articles

Top